inmichigansoil

People, towns, businesses, farms and gardens all grow in Michigan soil.

Planning Ahead for Next Spring

Leave a comment

The Glory of the Snow blooms in March in most areas. The tiny blue blossoms are a sign that better days are coming. Image by Rudolf Schäfer at http://www.flickr.com/photos/schaefer-rudolf/6857252556/

Glory of the Snow blooms in March in most areas. The tiny blue blossoms are a sign that better days are coming. Image by Rudolf Schäfer at http://www.flickr.com/photos/schaefer-rudolf/6857252556/

Spring has yet to arrive here in Michigan. We’ve had a couple of warmer days, but then it snows again. It could go one like that till mid-April.

Pictures of fields of  snowdrops in England have made me wishful, hopeful, and envious. I have some early bulbs in my yard, but nothing like the extravagant display that decorates the gardens over there. I have a plan.

After researching what will grow here in my Zone 6 garden and remembering the minor bulb blooms I already have, I found Glory of the Snow. They are a very nice bright blue, almost like Christmas tree lights. They clump which means I could dig up the plant after a few years and separate the bulblets and have more flowers to plant. They are unsophisticated enough to look natural. They bloom before grass-moving season arrives, so I could also plant them out in the lawn and let the color drift out from the planting bed. They go well with the colors already in my garden. They are hardy in Zones 3 to 8, so an unusually warm or cold winter will not harm them (I hope).

Design articles say to plant odd numbers in clusters. They mention 3 and 5 plants. They talk about an “amoeba” shape rather than straight  lines or rows of straight lines. How do you do that with 3 or 5 bulbs? I want 33 or 45 bulbs. And I need to find space for them.

I’ve been walking through the yard with a camera taking pictures of the gardens currently covered with snow. Given the right conditions, Glory of the Snow would be up in another month–if I had planted last fall. I think I’ve found the perfect area for these blue beauties. And I have a photo to remind me of my decision.

I’ll order the bulbs for delivery this coming fall. I’ll add some “bulb food” when I plant, probably bone meal. I’ll remove plugs of grass and plant bulbs beneath the turf in a unplanned pattern. I’ve checked pricing and the bulbs are 20/$10, more or less, plus shipping. This is the wrong time of the year to place an order, but I have a photo with notes to remind to order a bit later in the season.

I can plan ahead. That’s what gardeners do.

Leave a Reply

